Hertfordshire County Council reveals the councillors expected to take leading roles in its cabinet

The annual council meeting will be held at the Gordon Craig Theatre on Tuesday

Monday, 24th May 2021, 9:29 am
Updated Monday, 24th May 2021, 9:30 am

The names of the councillors who are expected to take the leading roles at Hertfordshire County Council have emerged, in advance of the council's annual meeting.

Cllr Richard Roberts has already been elected as the new leader of the council’s Conservative group, following the shock defeat of former leader David Williams in the May 6 local elections.

And after being formally ratified as leader at the annual council meeting on Tuesday (May 25), he will formally select a new cabinet.

Hertfordshire County Council

But agendas circulated in advance of this week’s cabinet meeting, have already indicated who the members of the new cabinet will be.

Cllr Teresa Heritage – who will continue to be interim leader of the county council until the annual meeting on Tuesday – will continue to be the executive member for children’s services.

Cllr Terry Douris will continue to take responsibility for schools as executive member for education, libraries and life-long learning.

And Cllr Phil Bibby will continue as the executive member for highways.

The resources portfolio – which had been held by Cllr Ralph Sangster, who did not stand in the latest elections – will be taken by Cllr Bob Deering.

And a new portfolio – that puts together public health and community safety – will he held by Cllr Morris Bright, who is also be deputy leader of the Conservative group.

Cllr Stephen Boulton will be the executive member for growth – replacing the ‘growth, infrastructure, planning and the economy’ portfolio that had been held by Derrick Ashley, who lost his seat in the May 6 elections.

And a new portfolio that brings together ‘the environment and waste’ will be held by Cllr Eric Buckmaster.

Meanwhile newly elected county councillor Stella Nash will take responsibility for adult social care.

Although re-elected to the county council, Cllr Terry Hone – who had been executive member for ‘waste management and community safety’ – is not identified as a member of the future cabinet.

Although the ‘executive responsibilities’ are listed on the agenda for the cabinet meeting, they will only be confirmed once the leader of the council is elected at the annual meeting of the council.

The annual council meeting will be held at the Gordon Craig Theatre, in Stevenage. Only councillors and ‘essential officers’ will be present at the meeting.

Other officers, press and members of the public will be able to view the meeting online.