Hertfordshire County Council election results 2021: Hemel Hempstead East division

Residents took to the polls on Thursday (May 6)

Tuesday, 11th May 2021, 11:01 am

Results from Thursday's Hertfordshire County Council election are coming in, and in Hemel Hempstead East Conservative candidate Andrew Williams has won the seat.

Members are routinely elected every four years in ‘all-out’ elections – with the last set of full elections held in 2017.

There are 10 county councillors elected from divisions in Dacorum.

In Hemel Hempstead East Conservative candidate Andrew Williams has won the seat

Eight of those 10 seats were held by Conservatives and two by Lib Dems, before Thursday's election.

Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat and Green candidates were standing in every one of the county council seats within Dacorum – with a Reform candidate standing in Bridgewater and independent Jan Maddern in Hemel Hempstead South East.

In Hemel Hempstead East voter turnout was 31%.

Hemel Hempstead East

Cllr Andrew Williams

Elected - Andrew Williams (Conservative) - 2016 votes (59%)

Ijlal Malik (Labour) - 686 votes (20%)

Anna Wellings Purvis (Liberal Democrats) - 416 votes (12%)

Paul de Hoest (Green Party) - 282 votes (8%).

Cllr Andrew Williams said: "I am delighted to have been re-elected as County Councillor for Hemel Hempstead East.

"I would like to thank everyone who supported me and I look forward to continuing to work on behalf of all the residents of Adeyfield East and Leverstock Green."

Voters in Dacorum also voted on who they wanted to take up the role of Police and Crime Commissioner for Hertfordshire – the contest was due to take place last year, but was delayed due to the pandemic.

The result of Herts PCC and the Dacorum Borough Council by-election - Tring Central Ward and Leverstock Green Ward - will be announced on Monday, May 10.