Hot-shot Howe scoops Junior Championship at Little Hay

Will Howe won the Little Hay Junior Championship 2015
Will Howe won the Little Hay Junior Championship 2015

Young hot-shots battled it out over 36 holes as the Little Hay Junior Championship took centre stage at the club last week.

On the first day of the competition, reigning champion Luke Wrathall led with a round of 77 from Robbie McIvor on 79, George Rocca on 81, and Will Howe on 82.

The following day, Hamish Jarvie led with 78 from Howe on 79 and McIvor on 82, meaning the combined scores for the two days saw Howe and McIvor tied on 161 and Wrathall on 162.

Howe was eventually declared the 2015 champion on count-back, deservedly taking the trophy after two consistent rounds.

In a simultaneous nett competition, 16-year-old Howe’s score of 131 was unbeaten, with McIvor on 135 and Tom Parr on 136. McIvor won the Junior Cup for 2015.

On Thursday, Frank Klimaszewski won the Seniors’ August Stableford Division One competition with 68 points on count-back. Martin Evans was second and Phil Joslin took third with 26 points.

Division Two was won by Patrick McInerney with 39 points; John Murphy was second with 36 points and Vic Allen third with 35 points.

On Saturday, the Men’s A Team recorded a home win over Stevenage, scoring a remarkable 230 points from their five matches compared to the visitors’ score of 212 points.