High fives for Berkhamsted squads in final Herts League galas

First for sports news
First for sports news
  • Abi Hewson and Kieran Mallory lead A team to best ever finish
  • B team record a massive 21 new personal best times from 32 swims
  • Club records are smashed across the board as youngsters continue to flourish
  • Tom Lyons names male swimmer of the night for the B team after PB in the 100m butterfly

The final round of the Herts League saw both Berkhamsted Swimming Club squads finish in fifth place in their respective galas to finish the campaign on a high.

The B team were in action in Hemel and could not have done any more, with 21 PBs from the 32 swims.

Berkhamsted Swimming Club ended the Herts League campaign with a flourish

Berkhamsted Swimming Club ended the Herts League campaign with a flourish

They were led off by the female swimmer of the night, 17-year-old Jenny Atwill who clocked nearly a two-second PB to finish second in 1:05.42.

The male swimmer of the night was Tom Lyons who attacked his 100m butterfly and held his form together to win in a PB of 1:04.49.

The improved strength in depth showed as nine of the 16 relays turned in club records for Berkhamsted.

Lyons led the team’s victories, also being part of the unbeaten U16 boys’ relay squad along with Tom Weston, Adam Hawkswood and Peter Lever.

Harry Thorne was the club’s final winner, leading from the start and looking serene as he romped home by more than 2.5 seconds.

Izzie Painter cut the U12 25m backstroke record by nearly a second as she lowered her own PB by close to two seconds.

Jess Stace’s 100m butterfly was well in the reckoning for swim of the night as she chopped a massive five seconds off her best.

The open girls’ relay team of Atwill, club captain Abbie Brown, Charley Stevens and Emily Kiernan placed second in both relays, lowering both club records yet again.

Weston helped Hamish MacCaig, Sam Newman and Sam Gray to a club best in the medley relay, while Louise Holden, Roisin Clarke, Izzy Sansom and Jess Stace teamed up to take both of the U14 club relay bests.

The boys’ squad of Thorne, Callum Bullock, Harrison Bullock and Cam MacDonald replicated the feat.

The final club best came from Amy Chennells, Aoife Hanling, Amy Stoker and Harriet Horwood-Jones as they claimed the U16 relay best in the freestyle event.

PBs went to Daniel Chennells, Louise Holden, Callum Bullock, Hamish MacCaig, Marley Maidment, Horwood-Jones, Amy Stoker, Harrison Bullock, Danny Hoyes, Aoife Hanling, Peter Lever, Izzy Sansom, Charley Stevens, Amy Chennells, Adam Hawkswood and Roisin Clarke.

The other members of the Berkhamsted squad were Emma Walker, Hannah Davis, Ellie Matthews and Dan Stace.

Meanwhile, the Berkhamsted A team went into their final round in sixth place, knowing that whatever happened it would be the best ever finishing place for the club.

Abi Hewson was swimmer of the night for the girls as she lowered the U12 50m back club record and her own PB, while the boys’ award went to first-timer Kieran Mallory who overcame his nerves to perform faultlessly.

The gala began with a PB for Rachel Barber in the open 100m freestyle, while Louis Armitage dropped his PB to win the U12 breaststroke.

Amy Pemberton reduced her PB to win the U14 100m freestyle, and James Corner won the 50m freestyle in another PB time.

Jordan Northwood attacked the U16 100m freestyle and lowered both his own PB and his club best time, before doing the same in the open 100m fly.

Club records went across the board, with Hewson, Jess Potts, Abbie Hurst and Charlotte Watson all setting new individual improvements.

Relay bests were set by Alice Hewson, Hurst, Yazii Brand and Barber in the open medley, followed by Hewson, Brand and Barber teaming with Charlotte Watson for the open free relay.

Chris Nel, Ollie Hurst, Jordan Northwood and Jamie Hoyes won their U16 medley in another club best performance, while remaining PBs went to Maddie Kiernan, Evie Watson, Ish Rahim, Mason Brand, Zoe Kenney and Izzie Soulsby.

Jack Filer, Tom Strakosch, Harry Ormerod, Helena Martin, George Thorne, Ellen Northwood and Zach Patel completed the happy squad.

The 8x50m squadron was a noisy affair and the Berkhamsted team rocketed home in second place.