Evans above! Martin storms to Little Hay Seniors’ Medal win

First for sports news
First for sports news

Martin Evans was triumphant in Division One of the Little Hay Seniors’ Medal with an outstanding 43 points.

That handed him victory by a clear seven points from runner-up Tim Farrow, who finished in second place with 36 points on countback ahead of third-placed Mick Milne.

In Division Two, David Smith was the winner with 39 points, with Peter Abbiss second with 37 points on countback. John Murphy was third, also with 37 points.

In the NAPGC Ladies’ Championship at St Andrews, Carol Kent played an outstanding round of golf to claim second place in Division Two. Pauline Manning also did very well to come fourth in Division One.

Elsewhere, at the Senior Captain’s Away Day at Aldwickbury Park, Phil Joslin won with 37 points and Peter Balding was second with 34 points. Jim Littlechild took third with 32 points.

The team events were won by John Redgwell, Fred Evans, Frank Klimaszewski and Tim Farrow with an aggregate score of 121 points.

Seniors’ captain Trevor Sargent won Longest Drive, with Terry Keeling taking nearest the pin on the 17th hole. John Murphy won nearest the pin in two shots on the 9th