Adeyfield show battling spirit to claim table tennis title by three points

First for sports news
First for sports news

The curtain fell on the 2014/15 Hemel Hempstead Table Tennis league season with Adeyfield I beating row 10-0 and their A Team 8-2 to become champions by just three points.

Dave Wackrill and Mike Boardman hit double maximums to see their team over the line.

Flamstead I managed a double points 8-2 victory over Crown & Sceptre A and a 7-3 win against Northchurch I thanks to a double maximum by Angela Smith.

Les Leech led the way for Adeyfield A in an 8-2 triumph against Northchurch I.

In Division Two, champions Flamstead A wrapped up their season with a 6-4 success against McAlpine A as Brian Hudson hit a treble, while Flamstead B recorded a 6-4 triumph over Crown & Sceptre C.

In Division Three, maximums from Jackie Chennell and Gerry Evans saw champions St Georges I finish with a 7-3 victory over Flamstead C.

Flamstead responded will with an 8-2 win against KLCC A thanks to a Tony Bourke treble.

KLCC A then had shared a 5-5 draw with St Georges A as Pete Watts helped himself to a treble, while Highfield also drew 5-5 with KLCC thanks to a maximum by Alan Jolly.