Preview: Tudors ready for cup final showdown with Boreham Wood

Dom Hyam in action for Hemel against Boreham Wood in last month's 1-0 defeat. Picture (c) Sean Hinks
Dom Hyam in action for Hemel against Boreham Wood in last month's 1-0 defeat. Picture (c) Sean Hinks

Hertfordshire heavyweights Hemel Hempstead Town and Boreham Wood battle it out at The County Ground tonight in the final of the Herts Senior Challenge Cup.

The Hertfordshire FA competition was first contested in 1886, and Hemel will be looking to make it third time lucky against their Vanarama Conference South rivals after Boreham Wood completed the league double this season.

The Tudors currently lie in eight position in the Vanarama Conference South table and come into the game on the back of a 3-0 defeat at home to Bishop’s Stortford on Saturday which ended their dreams of reaching the playoffs.

Dean Brennan’s side have scored an incredible 25 goals on route to tonight’s final, beating Sawbridgeworth Town, St Margaretsbury, Watford and Dacorum neighbours Berkhamsted in the process.

Cup holders Boreham Wood, meanwhile, will be hoping to retain their crown following Saturday’s 1-1 away draw with Ebbsfleet United which sees them sitting second in the Conference South table with only one game remaining. The Wood saw off competition from Hertford Town, Stevenage and St Albans City on their way to the final.

Hemel have the fourth most appearances in the final of the Herts Senior Cup, reaching this stage 17 times in their 130-year history, with five wins – the last coming in the 2012/13 season. Wood equal the Tudors’ five cup final wins and have been runners-up on nine occasions.

Tickets to the game can be purchased on the gate and are priced at £12 for adults and £6 for concessions. Kick-off is at 7.45pm.

Hemel Squad: Laurie Walker, Ed Asafu-Adjaye, Arthur Lee, Jordan Parkes, Dom Hyam, Eddie Oshodi , Dennis Oli, Matty Harriott, Oliver Hawkins, Luke Allen, Zane Banton, James Potten, Nicke Kabamba, James Simmonds, Jorell Johnson, David King

Borham Wood Squad: James Russell, Ben Nunn, Ben Herd, Sam Cox, Josh Hill, Callum Reynolds, Matthew Whichelow, Ricky Shakes, Lee Angol, Junior Morias, Daryl Mcmahon, Graeme Montgomery, James Courtnage, Charlie Walker, Scott Thomas, Ben Martin