Liberal Democrat Ron Tindall wins Adeyfield West by-election

editorial image

Liberal Democrat candidate Ron Tindall has been elected as the new Dacorum borough councillor for Adeyfield West in Hemel Hempstead.

Mr Tindall received 363 votes, beating Labour candidate Mike Moore by 85 votes – which represents a 17.8 per cent swing in votes from Labour to Liberal Democrat from the previous election in 2011.

Conservative representative Barry Newton was third with 229 votes, while UKIP’s Noel Swinford received 193 votes and English Democrat Simon Deacon collected 51 votes.

The by-election was called after Labour’s Keith White resigned from the post – following 18 years of representing the town – because he had moved out of the area to be closer to his elderly mother.