Rutherford takes the honours at Little Hay

editorial image

Fine weather led to some very good scores when 27 players competed for the Alan Irwin Trophy at Little Hay on Sunday.

After a tie, which was decided by countback, the winner was Stephen Rutherford with 43 Stableford points.

Second was Tony Hodson, and third place went to Steven Crowhurst.

Meanwhile, with five rounds played in the Winter League, the scores are closely matched with only three strokes separating the first four pairs.

In the lead with 216 points are Glen Mason and Rutherford, two points clear of second-placed pair Jamie McIvor and Tom Butler.

Just behind them on 213 points are the pairs of Dave Smith and Paul Williams and Alan Freeman and Jim Morris.

The best score in the fifth round was 45 points by Nick Pinnock and Matt Armstrong.